In short: Xero Singapore costs S$39 to S$95 a month including GST, files GST F5 returns directly to IRAS and links to InvoiceNow through its free Invoici app. QuickBooks Online costs $31 to $124 a month for 1 to 25 users, with inventory and projects from Plus, but its native InvoiceNow was still pending IMDA accreditation.
Pick Xero if your accountant uses it and you value direct GST F5 filing to IRAS and a working InvoiceNow connection today. Pick QuickBooks Online if you want inventory, purchase orders, project profitability and class tracking at a mid-tier price, and can work within its per-plan user limits and a native InvoiceNow feature that was still awaiting accreditation when we checked. For most small Singapore companies the deciding factor is what your accountant or bookkeeper already supports.
All prices and features below were checked on each vendor’s own Singapore website in October 2026.
The quick comparison
| Xero (Singapore) | QuickBooks Online (Singapore) | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Starter: S$39 a month | Simple Start: $31 a month |
| Mid plans | Standard: S$70 a month | Essentials: $57 a month; Plus: $78.99 a month |
| Top plan | Premium: S$95 a month | Advanced: $124 a month |
| Price basis | SGD, GST included, billed monthly | “/month”; the page’s structured data lists SGD; GST treatment not stated |
| Introductory offer seen | 80% off the first 3 months for new customers | 90% off for 6 months, or 50% off for 12 months, or a 30-day free trial |
| Users | No per-plan user limit stated on the Singapore pricing page; confirm with Xero | 1, 3, 5 or 25 users, plus your accountant |
| Entry plan limits | 20 invoices and quotes, 5 bills | 1 user |
| Multi-currency | Premium only | Essentials and above |
| Inventory and purchase orders | Not listed in plans | Plus and above |
| GST F5 | Submit directly to IRAS from Xero | Not described on the pricing page |
| InvoiceNow | Via Invoici from Xero, described as free | Native option with Fonoa pending IMDA accreditation (targeted August 2026) |
| Price change notice | Prices rise from 1 November 2026 | None shown |
Pricing and plans
Xero Singapore has three plans. Starter at S$39 a month suits sole traders and very new companies, but caps you at 20 invoices and quotes and 5 bills. Standard at S$70 a month removes the bill limit and adds bulk reconciliation, budgets and auto-reconciliation. Premium at S$95 a month adds multi-currency, KPI analysis and a 180-day cash flow forecast. Prices include GST and renew monthly. Xero’s page also says subscription prices will rise from 1 November 2026, so check the new figure. Add-ons include expense claims from S$6 a month and project tracking from S$10 a month.
QuickBooks Online Singapore has four plans: Simple Start at $31, Essentials at $57, Plus at $78.99 and Advanced at $124 a month. The page shows a bare “$”, and its structured data lists the currency as SGD. Simple Start allows 1 user, Essentials 3, Plus 5 and Advanced 25, each with access for your accountant. Essentials adds multiple currencies and bill management. Plus adds inventory, purchase orders, sales orders, projects and class and location tracking. Advanced adds revenue recognition, a custom report builder and workflow automation.
Both vendors push heavy discounts at sign-up. Budget on the full monthly price, because that is what you will pay from month four (Xero) or month seven (QuickBooks).
GST and IRAS
Xero’s Singapore site says you can submit your GST return directly from Xero to IRAS in one click. That saves re-keying figures into myTax Portal and is a genuine time saver for a GST-registered company. Xero did not state on that page which plans include it, so confirm with Xero or your accountant.
QuickBooks’ Singapore pricing page does not mention GST F5 filing. Ask Intuit, or an accountant who uses QuickBooks with Singapore clients, how they prepare and file your F5 from it.
InvoiceNow
InvoiceNow is Singapore’s Peppol-based e-invoicing network, and IRAS is phasing in a requirement for GST-registered businesses to send invoice data through it. Xero connects through Invoici from Xero, an app in the Xero App Store. Xero’s page says setup takes a few clicks and is a free service. You receive a Peppol ID, and e-invoices from suppliers arrive as draft bills.
On QuickBooks, Intuit’s Singapore e-invoicing page said it was finalising a native InvoiceNow experience with Fonoa, that it was pending accreditation with IMDA, and that it was targeting availability in August 2026. We could not confirm on Intuit’s site that it had launched by October 2026. Third-party InvoiceNow access points can also connect to QuickBooks Online.
Payroll and add-on apps
Neither Singapore pricing page lists a local payroll plan. In practice most Singapore companies run payroll in a dedicated app that handles CPF, IRAS AIS and payslips, then posts journals to the accounting file. Talenox and QuickHR both state integrations with Xero and QuickBooks Online; see Talenox vs QuickHR or consider payroll outsourcing.
Which should you choose
- Sole trader or new company with few invoices: QuickBooks Simple Start is cheaper per month and has no invoice cap, but allows one user. Xero Starter works if you stay under 20 invoices and 5 bills.
- GST-registered SME: Xero’s direct F5 filing and live InvoiceNow route are strong reasons to choose it. Check QuickBooks’ current InvoiceNow status first if you prefer it.
- Trading business with stock: QuickBooks Plus includes inventory and purchase orders. With Xero you would usually add an inventory app (see our inventory management guide).
- Business billing in several currencies: QuickBooks includes multiple currencies from Essentials ($57); Xero needs Premium (S$95).
- Using an outsourced accountant: choose what they use. Most firms support both, but their templates, reports and pricing often favour one.
For a third option with a free plan, see Xero vs Zoho Books.
Questions to ask before you commit
- What will the monthly price be once the introductory discount ends, and is GST included?
- How many users do you need now and in two years, including staff who only submit bills or expenses?
- Which plan includes the GST features you need, and how will your GST F5 be prepared and filed?
- How will you send and receive InvoiceNow e-invoices, and is there any extra cost for the access point?
- Which payroll, inventory or point-of-sale apps does your business rely on, and do they integrate with this product in Singapore?
- If you switch later, how will you export your history and attachments?
Switching between the two is possible but rarely painless. Conversion tools move balances and some history, but bank rules, invoice templates and reports usually need rebuilding, so pick carefully at the start.
Grants
The Productivity Solutions Grant closed to new applications after September 2026 and EDGE has replaced it. We do not state that any product is eligible. See PSG for accounting software and our EDGE grant calculator.
Get help choosing
If you want an accountant who will set up and run the software for you, a concierge can introduce accounting firms that work in Xero, QuickBooks or both. If you need the accounting file connected to your CRM or other tools, see workflow automation.
Frequently asked questions
Is Xero or QuickBooks cheaper in Singapore?
At list price, QuickBooks Simple Start ($31 a month) is cheaper than Xero Starter (S$39 a month), but Xero Starter limits you to 20 invoices and quotes and 5 bills. For a business that needs unlimited bills, compare Xero Standard (S$70) with QuickBooks Essentials ($57). Both run large introductory discounts, so check the price after the discount ends.
Can Xero and QuickBooks file GST returns to IRAS?
Xero's Singapore site says you can submit your GST return directly from Xero to IRAS in one click. QuickBooks' Singapore pricing page does not describe direct GST F5 filing, so ask Intuit or your accountant how F5 filing works in your QuickBooks file before you commit.
Do Xero and QuickBooks support InvoiceNow?
Xero supports InvoiceNow through Invoici from Xero, which Xero describes as a free service. QuickBooks' Singapore e-invoicing page said its native InvoiceNow experience with Fonoa was pending IMDA accreditation and targeted for August 2026. Check its current status. Third-party access points also connect QuickBooks to InvoiceNow.
Which has payroll for Singapore?
Neither pricing page lists a Singapore payroll plan. Most Singapore businesses run payroll in a local payroll app such as Talenox or QuickHR, both of which state integrations with Xero and QuickBooks Online.
Can I still get a PSG grant for Xero or QuickBooks?
The Productivity Solutions Grant closed to new applications after September 2026 and has been replaced by EDGE. Do not assume any product is eligible. See our PSG accounting software page and EDGE grant calculator for the current position.
